Writing Outside the Lines – Prompt 50

After the prompt this week created by Robert Mihaly we only have two weeks before the one year Anniversary of Writing Outside the Lines. This year has been amazing and I have seen wonderful growth and writing from those who have participated and expect year two to be even more amazing. Below is the prompt Robert is sharing for this week:

Source: Unknown

Source: Unknown

Being chosen for this week’s “Writing Outside the Lines” is an honor. Hard to imagine, I’ve not missed a single prompt, though some have taxed my imagination. I’m writing now thanks to Annie’s encouragement, starting with the first poem I showed her. So, many thanks to our friend and mentor, Annie. I also decided to use the opportunity to honor a favorite author, Kurt Vonnegut.

So here goes…use the quote in any way you wish, and, since you have a mandate to write outside the lines, anything goes. And I already know that I’ve challenged myself by choosing this…so let your imaginations run with it.

“Of all the words of mice and men, the saddest are ‘what might have been.'”

I found the following in a “Who originally said this?” post…

The line with “mice and men” appears in Vonnegut’s novel “Cat’s Cradle”, but probably is paraphrasing this …

For of all sad words of tongue or pen The saddest are these: “It might have been!”

… from an 1856 poem, “Maud Muller” by John Greenleaf Whittier.

Vonnegut was probably conflating the Maud Muller lines with Robert Burns’ “The best laid schemes o’ mice an’ men / Gang aft agley”.

But as Vonnegut would say, “So it goes.”

Robert Mihaly

Thanks Robert … ok Rebels … please give me your best this week … post a response any time between now and next Sunday, July 31, 2016 … or after the 31st … your response is always your choice!

Copyright © 2016 Annie
Always…I wish you peace, joy and happiness, but most of all I wish you Love.
As Ever, Annie

26 thoughts on “Writing Outside the Lines – Prompt 50

  1. Pingback: No Regrets | photos by Wild Thing

  2. Pingback: What Is – Prompt #50 | To See What I See

  3. Pingback: “The Salty Breeze Of The Unknown” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  4. Pingback: THINKING ALLOWED | artifiswords

Leave a Reply

