Writing Outside the Lines – Prompt 16

Source: WeHeartIt

Source: WeHeartIt

I am struggling with an issue of loyalty right now …  Look at the quote … Answer these — does it really still exist … Yes … No … Why … How do you know … Use this for the prompt this week.

Remember you are in charge of your words, there is no ‘right or wrong’ with this process other than to have FUN!

You have until Sunday, November 29, 2015 to share your writing … or when you feel the mood strike even after the 29th.

All prompts are active and feel free to go back to earlier ones if you have not been one of my Writing Rebels … the only challenge here is between you and what you have to write … the rules are few and open to everyone!

*For those new to this challenge, please read the particulars under the third tab that says “read first” https://annieswritingchallenge.wordpress.com/writing-outside-the-lines/ then return to the prompt page to post your response or your web site link in the comments section

Copyright © 2015 Annie
Always…I wish you peace, joy and happiness, but most of all I wish you Love.
As Ever, Annie

8 thoughts on “Writing Outside the Lines – Prompt 16

  1. They Don’t Make Friends Like They Used To…Do they?

    Look around you…
    Can you see
    People you
    Can trust
    With your
    Confidences?
    To be with you
    When the chips
    Are down?

    Or do you fear
    That you’re one
    Of the last
    Of a breed
    Who are loyal
    Even when
    Loyalty isn’t
    Returned?

    Did our culture
    Always moving
    So distracted…
    Kill the natural
    Bonds of friendship?

    There’s little point
    In arguing causes…
    It just has seemed
    For far too long
    That they don’t
    Make friends
    Like they used to

    Liked by 2 people

    • I think loyalty is a much too scarce “commodity”…and it’s shameful that many see it only in that way…as if it’s ok for it to be one-sided. That only lasts by the one not feeling the loyalty holding out for it to somehow appear. But I think that’s a job for Mission Impossible.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes, loyalty exists–as does treachery. And expediency. For human beings are infinitely complex, capable of all behavior on the spectrum between altruism and selfishness. One can even discover loyalty in the least expected places. As an example I will descend somewhat lower on the evoluttionary scale, to the domestic cat. Cats are not always the cold, selfish, opportunistic animals they are reputed to be….

    Tiger was a standard issue, gray, short haired tabby. She was completely devoted to me, more so than any dog. Of course, she had her reasons, to explain….

    I had just moved into a new aparttment in the Lower Ninth Ward(of Hurricane Katrina infamy). A curious and amiable tabby cat came for a visit, waving her tail in the air and purring, as felines will do. I didn’t see her the next day. The third day she returned, never to leave–a shrewd career move, indeed. She had endured the misfortune of living with the white trash next door. Words fail me when I try to explain how vile those people were, so I will throw out some appropriate adjectives–brutal, violent, degraded, stupid, hateful, filthy….And when I say filthy I do not use the term lightly. Those of you who know me well realize that I am not the most fastidious man on the planet. The decor chez Robert Moulton may be rightly described as Early Cro Magnon. So the living arrangements next door approximated the conditions of a Neanderthal latrine. Tiger could not believe her good luck. She seen her opportunity and she took it.

    That cat was utterly devoted to me. Some anecdotes are in order. We had an emergency, a gas leak, I think. The fire department came over and we filed dutifully outside. I was cradling the cat in my arms, lest she dart back inside. Mrs. Neanderthal came over to pet the cat~”How’s my Tiger?” Tiger laid back her ears and hissed fiercely. She would have none of it. Smart gal. Great judge of character.
    At this time I also had two dogs–big, ignorant, rollicking rambunctious Nint’ Ward dawgs. When I would go on vacation the dogs would of course be glad to see me. They would jump up and down and wag their tails–for about five minutes. Tiger, on the other hand, would miaow piteously and rub up against my legs for hours. She had come perilously close to losing her Robert, and she was in need of serious reassurance.

    Of course an animal so devoted and so jealous was bound to add spice and dash to my love life. Things got interesting when I entertained the woman who became my wife. Tiger exacted her revenge–a terrible and patient feline revenge. She waited until the wee hours–and with the legendary terrible stealth of the cat executed a quick sharp bite on Robin’s vulnerable toes. Robin always had a gift for the theatrical–she could be guranteed to over react. She started up with a piercing shriek~Oh my God!!! There ensued quite a commotion–things got right LIVELY in that bed for the next few minutes. The cat faded silently into the shadows, no doubt pleased with the havoc she had wrought.

    There was another occasion when Robin spent some time paying her respects to her Grandfather in upstate New York. She left her cat in my care for the nonce. Again the wee hours….I heard a terrifying yowling and caterwauling in the night. It was as if every banshee in the world had resolved to have a conclave at my place–and decided to quarrel at the foot of my bed. I jumbed up to investigate. As I walked into another room I encountered Tiger, strutting jauntily, looking very pleased with herself, with a tuft of cat hair proudly in her jaws~I’ll show that hussy….Thinks she can steal my Robert….

    I hope I have made the reader laugh. But there is a lesson to be learned here, gleaned from the humble and patient wisdom of the cat. Loyalty is indeed laudable–but make sure someone is worthy of your loyalty before you give it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

