Writing Outside the Lines – Prompt 10

Writing Outside the Lines – Prompt 10

IMG_3619

Did your grandmother or mother if you are of a certain age wear an apron every day? I love this picture because it reminds me of so many things of my childhood.

You are the writer and in charge of how you want to address this picture prompt. Perhaps you want to talk about aprons and their importance in the daily lives of people from your past. Maybe you have a memory in general this picture jogs. Or, you might write about what the lady in the picture is doing … what she did just before the picture was taken … what she will do next. Just a few ideas, but I am sure my wonderful Rebels you have many more ideas than I have suggestions.

Remember you are in charge of your words, there is no ‘right or wrong’ with this process other than to have FUN!

You have until Sunday, October 18, 2015 to share your writing … or when you feel the mood strike even after the 4th.

All prompts are active and feel free to go back to earlier ones if you have not been one of my Writing Rebels … the only challenge here is between you and what you have to write … the rules are few and open to everyone!

*For those new to this challenge, please read the particulars under the third tab that says “read first” https://annieswritingchallenge.wordpress.com/writing-outside-the-lines/ then return to the prompt page to post your response or your web site link in the comments section

Copyright © 2015 Annie
Always…I wish you peace, joy and happiness, but most of all I wish you Love.
As Ever, Annie

29 thoughts on “Writing Outside the Lines – Prompt 10

  1. Aprons Aren’t Just For Cooking

    I have distinct boyhood memories of both my grandmothers, my mother, and my aunts wearing aprons in the kitchen. I’m guessing it wasn’t an everyday event. I know it wasn’t in my house. But when the holidays rolled around, I could count on seeing an apron. I didn’t really give aprons much thought then. It seemed like just something women would wear.

    As I grew into manhood, I saw that aprons had uses far outside the kitchen…and that they were often worn by men…eventually also by me. While in art school, I became interested in ceramics. For working on a potter’s wheel, one early addition to my equipment list and my wardrobe was a blue denim workman’s apron. If you’ve ever thrown a pot on the wheel, no matter how careful you are, you know that water and slip are spun off. Without an apron, you might need a change of clothes to venture off to the next class. I won’t say I exactly cut a dashing figure in that apron, but it was practical.

    Later in my schooling, I took a sculpture class where bronze casting was the purpose. No more cloth aprons. Silicon bronze melts at 1780 – 1880 °F. As the melting pot heats in the furnace, you have to slowly and carefully add the bronze, to avoid cracking the ceramic crucible and to avoid a splash of molten metal. It takes awhile to reach the best temperature for pouring into the molds, and when you do, the safety equipment covers you thoroughly. Steel-toed shoes are best, along with denim pants and shirt, which are resistant to burning. A full face shield protects the eyes and sensitive skin of the face. Over your hands are heavy gloves, which in those days were asbestos. Maybe that’s been replaced by leather these days. I don’t know. But over all the rest of the front of your body is a heavy very flexible leather apron. It’s a far cry from the frilly kitchen aprons the ladies used. But I have respect for the humble apron. They’re not just for the ladies anymore. Actually…they never were.

    Liked by 1 person

    • This is such a different view … yes, aprons are definitely used for things other than cooking. Thank you for expanding our world view … Excellent piece … could feel the heat as you described the furnace … YIKES!!!

      Your sculpture class reminded me of two science classes I took where I had to wear protective aprons … Human Anatomy where we cut up things and MicroBiology where were were constantly working with bacteria and germs that could have made us very sick!

      Like

  2. The apron

    The moving trucks had left an hour ago and there was only one thing left to do. The final walk through. Taking a deep breath she turned the doornob and pushed the door open. Stepping inside the house for the last time caused a painful tightness in her chest, but she breathed through it and continued on.
    The only sound that could be heard in the now silent house was the staccato clicking of her heels as she walked through the now empty rooms, looking for anything that might have been left behind.
    Room after room, nothing but silence, emptiness… “Almost done” she thought.
    The hardest room to enter was left for last. Walking the last few steps she turned the corner and entered the kitchen. Ah, the heartbeat of the house, the one room where most of their lives were lived… Now that to lay silent…as did the one person who was the heart of the family… Mother
    Standing in the doorframe looking around, she spots something hanging on the back of the pantry door. Walking across the room she recognizes the faded flower print. With a shaking hand she reaches out for the material, and lifting it off the hook she presses it to her chest and let’s the pent up tears fall. Her mothers apron… The one she always wore.
    Memories of all the dinners, holidays, family get togethers, mid-night talks, big moments, little moments, every moment spent.. all flashed through her mind like a movie. And in the center of it all was the heart of the family, her beloved mother and her flowered apron.
    As the light began to fade, and the memories came to a stand still, she continued to hold the apron. It was as much a part of this kitchen as it was her mother.. Both now gone. Walking back to the pantry door she hung the apron back on the hook. Turning on her heel she slowly walked away, never looking back. Leaving the now silent house to its peace..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

