Writing Outside the Lines – Prompt 8

Source: WeHeartIt

Source: WeHeartIt

Writing Outside the Lines – Prompt 8

Just before I brought myself to post the new prompt for this week I received crushing news that a friend died suddenly in her sleep Friday. When someone young, talented, and creative leaves this world unexpectedly it rocks your soul to the core. She was there for me when no one else was on many times in the middle of the night when I slipped into darkness where my demons live. She helped me fight them and find the light of day. She was there for everyone who knew a loved her … and now, that light is gone.

I was wavering between the above picture and another prompt but, hearing of her death made the decision for the blue door.

Here is the prompt for the week of September 27th:

You come upon a blue door in a stone wall. What happens next?

 

Remember you are in charge of your words, there is no ‘right or wrong’ with this process other than to have FUN!

You have until Sunday, October 4, 2015 to share your writing … or when you feel the mood strike even after the 4th.

All prompts are active and feel free to go back to earlier ones if you have not been one of my Writing Rebels … the only challenge here is between you and what you have to write … the rules are few and open to everyone!

*For those new to this challenge, please read the particulars under the third tab that says “read first” https://annieswritingchallenge.wordpress.com/writing-outside-the-lines/ then return to the prompt page to post your response or your web site link in the comments section

Copyright © 2015 Annie
Always…I wish you peace, joy and happiness, but most of all I wish you Love.
As Ever, Annie

 

30 thoughts on “Writing Outside the Lines – Prompt 8

  1. It’s a (Sur)real Life

    Strolling down a
    Belgian street
    A look quaint & charming
    But ancient ghosts watch

    Houses with character
    Where have I seen them before?
    Guessing the answer…
    Never outside of books

    Passing tidy stone and brick
    Passing amazing entrances
    And I’m entranced
    As I reach one lone blue door

    Through…now inside
    Act 2 begins
    Wondering…
    How did I get here…& why?

    Living in a white room
    Behind a green door
    A dearth of sensation
    Overwhelming ennui

    A red door…and…NO!
    They’re painting it black
    Stop! This is MY dream
    Can’t they understand?

    It sure feels real
    When life turns surreal
    This is NOT
    What I ordered!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The blue door

    I’ve been passing by this blue door for as long as I can remember. As a child I’d stop in front of it and just stare. Being an inquisitive child I’d ask any available adult what was behind that door, but I always got the same response. ” you’re not to go thru that door until it’s time”
    What in the world did that mean?
    As I grew into an adult, I found I still had a fascination with what lay beyond that door. Once I even was brave enough to reach out and touch it’s faded and chipped blue surface. Funny thing, in all the many years I passed by it, it never changed. Hmmm.
    As I reached my golden years I once again stopped before that faded blue door. My bones were brittle, my gait was slow. My hair was white and my skin was wrinkled from time. I stretched out my hand to touch the door one last time, and once again I heard the voices of those before me saying “you’re not to go through that door until it’s time”
    I now understood, and I knew it was time. I finally knew what was behind that door… And as I walked through, I found my way home.

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a Reply

